Symposium on Creation of Functional Materials

Strategic Initiative for Interdisciplinary Materials Science and
pre-Strategic Initiative for Creation of Functional Molecules, University of Tsukuba

December 3-4, 2009

Tsukuba International Congress Center (EPOCHAL)

Program (PDF file)

December 3 (Thursday)

9:10 – 12:15

Takeshi Akasaka (University of Tsukuba)
In-depth Understanding of pi-Electron Systems: New Vistas in Fullerene Endohedrals

Teruo Shinmyozu (Kyushu University)
A Study on Charge Transfer Interaction Using Cyclophanes as Model Compounds

Vladimir Lee (University of Tsukuba)
Cyclopentadienyl Anions of the Heavy Group 14 Elements: New Generation Ligands for Coordination Chemistry

Xiao-Ming Chen (Sun Yat-Sen University, China)
Porous Coordination Polymers: Flexibility and Sorption

13:15 – 16:40

James M. Mayer (University of Washington, USA)
Moving Protons and Electrons Together: From Organic Hydrogen Atom Transfer Reactions to Marcus Theory of Proton-Coupled Electron Transfer

Takayuki Kawashima (University of Tokyo)
Creation of Functional Molecules Utilizing Characteristics of Boron

Atsuhiro Osuka (Kyoto University)
Möbius Aromatic Expanded Porphyrins

Yousuke Yamamoto (Hiroshima University)
Synthesis and Structure of Hypervalent Carbon and Boron Compounds

16:50 – 18:20

Poster Presentation (Program)

18:40 –

Reception at “Espoir,” Epochal


December 4 (Friday)

9:00 – 12:00

Norio Teramae (Tohoku University)
Molecule Recognition by Fluorophores in Combination with Abasic Site-containing Oligonucleotides

Hideo Nagashima (Kyushu University)
Living Polymerization by Reusable Iron-amine Catalysts: From Fundamental Chemistry to Industrial Potentials

Tsuyoshi Michinobu (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Click Synthesis of Donor-Acceptor Type Conjugated Polymers

Young-Joo Kim (Kangnung-Wonju Natiuonal University, Korea)
Chemistry of Group 10 Metal Azides: Reactivity toward Organic Unsaturated Compounds

13:00 – 16:50

Kazuo Takimiya (Hiroshima University)
Design and Synthesis of New Heteroarene-Based Organic Semiconductors for Thin-Film Transistors

Hiroshi Nishihara (University of Tokyo)
Coordination Programming of Electron-Conducting Molecular Wires on the Surface

Koji Kimoto (National Institute for Materials Science)
Material Characterization with High Spatial Resolution Using Transmission Electron Microscopy and Electron Energy-loss Spectroscopy

Junpei Kuwabara (University of Tsukuba)
Synthesis of Functional Polymer by Pd-Catalyzed C-N Coupling Reaction

Zhenfeng Xi (Peking University, China)
Synthesis of Pyridines, Pyrroles, and 5-Azaindoles


Deadline for Poster Registration & Abstract Submission:
November 12, 2009
e-mail to Hideo Kigoshi:
Abstract form for poster presentation is available from here.

Reception Fee: